Home Mail MemberMap Chat (0) Wallpapers
Go Back   ChiefsPlanet > The Royal Lounge > Media Center

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-29-2014, 10:34 AM  
go bowe go bowe is offline
bye bye bo...
 
go bowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: independence
Casino cash: $6411
help, again...

my pc has lost it's mind and wouldn't start up without freezing or rebooting during startup...

so dumbass me decides to do a clean install of windows 7 and setup gets all the way to preparing for the first use and it stops right there, and starts rebooting every time it gets to that point...

so i try to reinstall my old winxp, same result, freezes and/or reboots during startup...

i had pulled one of the drives to use in my wife's pc, which had a drive crap out and had reinstalled it on my pc to install windows 7 and get the same results...

nothing had changed except for the second drive being pulled and reinstalled and the fact that i had tried to reinstall both windows 7 and xp...

i thought a clean install would solve my problem but neither os would install without the freezing and/or rebooting going on...

i now have two drives that used to work fine in my pc that won't completely install windows 7 and won't startup xp without doing the freezing/rebooting thing...

can three drives on 2 different pcs all crap out at once?

what can i do about this shit other than a flaming aids tree?
Posts: 30,068
go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 10:52 AM   #2
MTG#10 MTG#10 is offline
EAD
 
MTG#10's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Springfield
Casino cash: $8608
One of your memory sticks is probably bad. Google memtest86 and run a diagnostic.
Posts: 5,985
MTG#10 is obviously part of the inner Circle.MTG#10 is obviously part of the inner Circle.MTG#10 is obviously part of the inner Circle.MTG#10 is obviously part of the inner Circle.MTG#10 is obviously part of the inner Circle.MTG#10 is obviously part of the inner Circle.MTG#10 is obviously part of the inner Circle.MTG#10 is obviously part of the inner Circle.MTG#10 is obviously part of the inner Circle.MTG#10 is obviously part of the inner Circle.MTG#10 is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 11:05 AM   #3
go bowe go bowe is offline
bye bye bo...
 
go bowe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: independence
Casino cash: $6411
there was a memory test on the win7 setup disk that i used and it showed the mem as ok...

and why would this manifest itself after pulling and reinstalling one of the drives?

everything was working fine until i did that...
Posts: 30,068
go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 11:28 AM   #4
go bowe go bowe is offline
bye bye bo...
 
go bowe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: independence
Casino cash: $6411
so i pulled the second hard drive and tried to install win 7 on the one "good" drive that used to work just fine and now the setup disk just hangs/freezes and won't install...

has the devil invaded my computer?
Posts: 30,068
go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 11:30 AM   #5
go bowe go bowe is offline
bye bye bo...
 
go bowe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: independence
Casino cash: $6411
Quote:
Originally Posted by MTG#10 View Post
One of your memory sticks is probably bad. Google memtest86 and run a diagnostic.
i can't get an operating system toi run, how can i test the mem if the pc just hangs/reboots before it ever gets to a normal screen?
Posts: 30,068
go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 11:31 AM   #6
TrebMaxx TrebMaxx is online now
Postaphobic
 
TrebMaxx's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Peoples Republic of CoMo
Casino cash: $6845
You could try to reset your CMOS, then reinstall.
__________________
Posts: 2,905
TrebMaxx 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliTrebMaxx 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliTrebMaxx 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliTrebMaxx 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliTrebMaxx 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliTrebMaxx 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliTrebMaxx 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliTrebMaxx 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliTrebMaxx 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliTrebMaxx 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliTrebMaxx 's adopt a chief was Sabby Piscitelli
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 11:50 AM   #7
go bowe go bowe is offline
bye bye bo...
 
go bowe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: independence
Casino cash: $6411
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrebMaxx View Post
You could try to reset your CMOS, then reinstall.
i tried that and it didn't seem to help...

now it won't even start up with the setup disk in the cd drive, just sits with a black screen...

how the hell did all this happen just by swapping out a drive?
Posts: 30,068
go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 11:54 AM   #8
Nirvana58 Nirvana58 is offline
Starter
 
Nirvana58's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2010
Casino cash: $5280
There are many questions that need to be answer before people can give you good advice. When you put the drive in your wifes computer did it boot up just fine? It should of boot the system previously installed on that drive. Also what kind of drives do you have PATA, SATA, SSD? Instead of going to the boot screen go into your CMOS. Can you see your drives in the CMOS? Constant restarting can also be either a power supply issue or overheating issue also. However, it sounds like it only restarts when you are booting to Windows. So I guess you had no issues booting to the boot disk or during the install?
Posts: 263
Nirvana58 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutNirvana58 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutNirvana58 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutNirvana58 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutNirvana58 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutNirvana58 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutNirvana58 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutNirvana58 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutNirvana58 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutNirvana58 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutNirvana58 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking about
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 12:03 PM   #9
go bowe go bowe is offline
bye bye bo...
 
go bowe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: independence
Casino cash: $6411
pulled the battery and reset the cmos and now the xp setup has started after deleting the partition set a new one and formatting now...

hasn't frozen or rebooted, yet...
Posts: 30,068
go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 12:12 PM   #10
go bowe go bowe is offline
bye bye bo...
 
go bowe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: independence
Casino cash: $6411
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nirvana58 View Post
There are many questions that need to be answer before people can give you good advice. When you put the drive in your wifes computer did it boot up just fine? It should of boot the system previously installed on that drive. Also what kind of drives do you have PATA, SATA, SSD? Instead of going to the boot screen go into your CMOS. Can you see your drives in the CMOS? Constant restarting can also be either a power supply issue or overheating issue also. However, it sounds like it only restarts when you are booting to Windows. So I guess you had no issues booting to the boot disk or during the install?
my wife's pc had a drive crap out (cmos wouldn't autodetect it anymore) so i pulled that one and tried to install a sata drive from my pc (which was working fine til i took that one drive out)...

it didn't seem to work in my wife's pc either so i took it out and it's laying on my desk now not in either pc...

my wife's pc is working off what was the backup drive, a ide which is what i'm typing on now...

my pc had been working fine until i took that drive out (both drives in my pc were sata)...

i had been having some trouble with freezes before but never had the rebooting thing until i tried to install win 7 after formatting the remaining sata drive (which had worked before)...

yes the cmos recognized the drives on my pc and i have reset the cmos since then, to no avail...
Posts: 30,068
go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 12:15 PM   #11
go bowe go bowe is offline
bye bye bo...
 
go bowe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: independence
Casino cash: $6411
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nirvana58 View Post
There are many questions that need to be answer before people can give you good advice. When you put the drive in your wifes computer did it boot up just fine? It should of boot the system previously installed on that drive. Also what kind of drives do you have PATA, SATA, SSD? Instead of going to the boot screen go into your CMOS. Can you see your drives in the CMOS? Constant restarting can also be either a power supply issue or overheating issue also. However, it sounds like it only restarts when you are booting to Windows. So I guess you had no issues booting to the boot disk or during the install?
nope, it does the freeze or reboot thing during attempts to install windows 7 and it will act like it installs xp but it won't complete startup (freezes or reboots)...

nothing will boot up all the way right now...
Posts: 30,068
go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 12:20 PM   #12
MTG#10 MTG#10 is offline
EAD
 
MTG#10's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Springfield
Casino cash: $8608
Quote:
Originally Posted by go bowe View Post
i can't get an operating system toi run, how can i test the mem if the pc just hangs/reboots before it ever gets to a normal screen?
Memtest86 runs before your os boots. Just put it on a disc or USB flash drive and in bios make sure it's set to boot from disc/USB. And the windows7 memory test is pretty much worthless.
Posts: 5,985
MTG#10 is obviously part of the inner Circle.MTG#10 is obviously part of the inner Circle.MTG#10 is obviously part of the inner Circle.MTG#10 is obviously part of the inner Circle.MTG#10 is obviously part of the inner Circle.MTG#10 is obviously part of the inner Circle.MTG#10 is obviously part of the inner Circle.MTG#10 is obviously part of the inner Circle.MTG#10 is obviously part of the inner Circle.MTG#10 is obviously part of the inner Circle.MTG#10 is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 12:29 PM   #13
Nirvana58 Nirvana58 is offline
Starter
 
Nirvana58's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2010
Casino cash: $5280
Quote:
Originally Posted by go bowe View Post
my wife's pc had a drive crap out (cmos wouldn't autodetect it anymore) so i pulled that one and tried to install a sata drive from my pc (which was working fine til i took that one drive out)...

it didn't seem to work in my wife's pc either so i took it out and it's laying on my desk now not in either pc...

my wife's pc is working off what was the backup drive, a ide which is what i'm typing on now...

my pc had been working fine until i took that drive out (both drives in my pc were sata)...

i had been having some trouble with freezes before but never had the rebooting thing until i tried to install win 7 after formatting the remaining sata drive (which had worked before)...

yes the cmos recognized the drives on my pc and i have reset the cmos since then, to no avail...
There is a lot of things it could be. If you were having issues with your computer keeping time and freezinng/reboots could be your CMOS battery was going out. Most likely you have a bad RAM stick. You can pull all your RAM and try to boot from a RAM stick that you know is good. Another thing that I have come accross sometimes with older SATA drives is that you need to go into CMOS and put them under the ATA setting. Naturally CMOS has them in AHCI or RAID settings which will not let them boot.

However, my money based on the symptoms would be on a bad RAM stick. So I would definitely pull them for a known good stick and see if your computer can boot there.
Posts: 263
Nirvana58 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutNirvana58 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutNirvana58 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutNirvana58 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutNirvana58 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutNirvana58 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutNirvana58 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutNirvana58 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutNirvana58 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutNirvana58 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutNirvana58 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking about
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 12:55 PM   #14
go bowe go bowe is offline
bye bye bo...
 
go bowe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: independence
Casino cash: $6411
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nirvana58 View Post
There is a lot of things it could be. If you were having issues with your computer keeping time and freezinng/reboots could be your CMOS battery was going out. Most likely you have a bad RAM stick. You can pull all your RAM and try to boot from a RAM stick that you know is good. Another thing that I have come accross sometimes with older SATA drives is that you need to go into CMOS and put them under the ATA setting. Naturally CMOS has them in AHCI or RAID settings which will not let them boot.

However, my money based on the symptoms would be on a bad RAM stick. So I would definitely pull them for a known good stick and see if your computer can boot there.
i will try that next...
Posts: 30,068
go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 12:56 PM   #15
go bowe go bowe is offline
bye bye bo...
 
go bowe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: independence
Casino cash: $6411
Quote:
Originally Posted by MTG#10 View Post
Memtest86 runs before your os boots. Just put it on a disc or USB flash drive and in bios make sure it's set to boot from disc/USB. And the windows7 memory test is pretty much worthless.
of course i don't have any discs and my pc has no cmos choices for usb drives...

may have to go to the store for some discs..., ugh!
Posts: 30,068
go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:39 PM.


This is a test for a client's site.
A new website that shows member-created construction site listings that need fill or have excess fill. Dirt Monkey @ https://DirtMonkey.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.