Home Mail MemberMap Chat (0) Wallpapers
Go Back   ChiefsPlanet > The Lounge > Media Center

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-29-2015, 11:53 AM  
go bowe go bowe is offline
Gonzo = Sexy Bitch
 
go bowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: independence
Casino cash: $24561
hardware issue

my son is trying to build a new pc using a gigabyte mobo GA-H81M-DS2V (rev. 1.0) LGA 1150 Intel H81 2...

he mounted the mobo in the case, installed a Intel Pentium G3220 Haswell Dual-Core 3.0GHz LGA 1150 54W BX80646G3220 Desktop Processor...

and installed 2x4Gb CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9...

and when turned on it goes beep beep beep real short beeps real fast, about 20 or more and then three longer slower beeps but no startup...

gigabyte support says that the processor should work with this mobo, and that the ram is non ecc and unbuffered, as the mobo requires, but it won't work!!

gigabyte support really didn't offer much other than to say it should work and i can return the mobo if i want...

any ideas on how to resolve this situation?

tia
Posts: 32,259
go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 12:10 PM   #2
Fish Fish is online now
Missing Dick Curl
 
Fish's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Casino cash: $26843
You might need to listen better to the beeps and count exactly how many beeps at a time. The mobo is trying to tell you what's wrong.

What does BIOS beep sound mean?

AMI BIOS
1 short beep :Memory Error
2 short beep:Memory parity check error.
3 short beep :basic memory 64K address check error
4 short beep :Real Time Clock malfunction .
5 short beep :CPU error
6 short beep:Keyboard error
7 short beep :CPU interruption error
8 short beep:Graphic card error
9 short beep :Memory error
10 short beep :CMOS error
11 short beep :CPU cache memory malfunction

From your description, I would guess it's maybe a memory issue. Remove the RAM and reinsert it. Test again. If that doesn't work, try one stick at a time.
__________________
Posts: 28,036
Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 02:07 PM   #3
hometeam hometeam is offline
Supporter
 
hometeam's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Jefferson City
Casino cash: $21883
If possible you need to try switching out each part, piece by piece, with known good parts, or conversely, known good configurations.

For example, try the ram in another PC that you know works. Remove the known working ram, replace with the new ram. If it works, its not the ram.

Same with every other part in the build until you find a culprit. (processor being the hardest if you don't have another known good mobo with the same socket)

Also, make sure you assemble the whole PC OUTSIDE of the case before you put it in the case, as a screw or other short can cause all sorts of bad stuff to happen.

In a case like this, my first guess is the mobo itself, as mobos have a much higher failure rate than ram. Cant know unless you troubleshoot it though.

Last edited by hometeam; 04-29-2015 at 02:25 PM..
Posts: 6,773
hometeam has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.hometeam has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.hometeam has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.hometeam has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.hometeam has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.hometeam has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.hometeam has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.hometeam has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.hometeam has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.hometeam has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.hometeam has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 02:25 PM   #4
kcfanXIII kcfanXIII is offline
FREE HAT!!!
 
kcfanXIII's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 25 minutes from arrowhead
Casino cash: $13047
Make sure it is all seated properly. Some times those RAM sticks don't like to go in all the way, and that will result in the BIOS cussing at you.
__________________
Posts: 5,122
kcfanXIII 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitellikcfanXIII 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitellikcfanXIII 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitellikcfanXIII 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitellikcfanXIII 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitellikcfanXIII 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitellikcfanXIII 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitellikcfanXIII 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitellikcfanXIII 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitellikcfanXIII 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitellikcfanXIII 's adopt a chief was Sabby Piscitelli
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 02:39 PM   #5
eDave eDave is offline
MVP
 
eDave's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Casino cash: $67236
If 3 beeps, then it's memory. As stated earlier:

Re-seat the memory. If it still fails try, known to be good, memory.
If you have two sticks of memory try using only one at a time.

Not likely, but is the memory compatible with the board?

If none of the above, you've got a bad MOBO.
Posts: 9,986
eDave has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.eDave has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.eDave has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.eDave has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.eDave has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.eDave has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.eDave has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.eDave has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.eDave has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.eDave has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.eDave has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 05:05 PM   #6
ragedogg69 ragedogg69 is offline
Oh yeah..... you like that
 
ragedogg69's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Casino cash: $14261
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcfanXIII View Post
Make sure it is all seated properly. Some times those RAM sticks don't like to go in all the way, and that will result in the BIOS cussing at you.
yeah i had that EXACT problem when i built one of my PCs. Also forgot to plug the 12v line into the motherboard on another one time. whoops
__________________
“You think Denver has the greatest fans? Well, they aren’t.” -- Jake Plummer


Don't believe me? http://deadspin.com/sports/nfl/plummer-asks-the-world-who-wants-some-131609.php
Posts: 1,674
ragedogg69 must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ragedogg69 must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ragedogg69 must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ragedogg69 must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ragedogg69 must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ragedogg69 must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ragedogg69 must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ragedogg69 must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ragedogg69 must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ragedogg69 must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ragedogg69 must have mowed badgirl's lawn.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 09:47 PM   #7
kysirsoze kysirsoze is offline
SNAP THE ****ING BALL!!!
 
kysirsoze's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Casino cash: $16283
My memory was bad when I built my computer. It was nerve racking as hell cause it was my first and I was sure I did something wrong. Went and bought some more to try it out and it worked like a charm.
Posts: 8,593
kysirsoze has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.kysirsoze has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.kysirsoze has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.kysirsoze has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.kysirsoze has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.kysirsoze has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.kysirsoze has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.kysirsoze has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.kysirsoze has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.kysirsoze has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.kysirsoze has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:54 PM.


This is a test for a client's site.
A new website that shows member-created construction site listings that need fill or have excess fill. Dirt Monkey @ https://DirtMonkey.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.