ChiefsPlanet

ChiefsPlanet (http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/index.php)
-   Media Center (http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Computers New Computer Build (http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/showthread.php?t=269265)

kaplin42 01-24-2013 10:45 AM

New Computer Build
 
Just got to build myself a new desktop computer for Win. 8 research, and gaming naturally. I had a budget of $2k, and when I bought all the parts, it came out to $1,914. I just got it built up yesterday, with a Windows 8 install disk on a flash drive, the OS installed in 2 minutes, literally. Now, anyone got any good ideas for a game that will push the system?



Link to public wishlist Sharktopus Build on Newegg

QuikSsurfer 01-24-2013 10:48 AM

Metro 2033
The Witcher 2

Both of these would be great benchmarks.

Pestilence 01-24-2013 11:01 AM

$2000? **** you.

Fish 01-24-2013 11:02 AM

Only 32GB of RAM?

kaplin42 01-24-2013 11:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fish (Post 9347602)
Only 32GB of RAM?

Yeah I thought 64 would be over the top. :evil:

I have to figure out how, but I think I might try and make a RAM drive just to see how that works.

Mr. Laz 01-24-2013 11:58 AM

$2000 is a lot for a build sans monitor


congrats



fyi why 2 different video cards?

kaplin42 01-24-2013 12:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mr. Laz (Post 9347779)
$2000 is a lot for a build sans monitor


congrats



fyi why 2 different video cards?

Doh, it's only one card the 7970, which might explain why it's over budget on that.

and I have 3 x 24 inch monitors at 1920 x 1200, so I didn't need anymore, same with a case, I have one that I like a lot so I just reused that one.

Buck 01-24-2013 02:43 PM

God damn ****a.

BigMeatballDave 01-24-2013 06:11 PM

fap

Frazod 01-24-2013 06:15 PM

Nice. I'm waiting for the price to come down on those solid state drives, but will probably make the switch at some point.

nstygma 01-24-2013 06:18 PM

do you work with After Effects? i'd like to know how well that performs

kaplin42 01-24-2013 07:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nstygma (Post 9348793)
do you work with After Effects? i'd like to know how well that performs

I don't, but I did get the whole Adobe Creative Suite 6.0 Master Collection.

To be fair, my job gave me the budget for the machine, and all the software I use. I just also get to take it home and play games on it as well.

Pants 01-24-2013 09:10 PM

Damn. That's a nice ****ing rig, man.

/jealous

hometeam 01-24-2013 10:47 PM

If you are going to OC you don't want that much ram, its a tiny performance increase (over 16) and will limit your overclock on the top end, I promise. Not to mention

Why windows 8? Are you doing touchscreen stuff? If not, stick with 7. Also, why do you have 2 different graphics cards? Where is your case and cooling solution? Where is your HDD storage? Why that Mobo? Are you planning on using the thunderbolt functionality? because you are paying for it. Why such an expensive power supply? There are great power supplies that can do the job for cheaper. It doesn't seem like a cohesive and well thought build.

edit; See some of my questions answered above - What case are you using?

Buck 01-25-2013 12:05 AM

I just put the 4 components I want to upgrade into my cart on newegg and it's $610. And they charge tax to CA....ugh.

i5 3570k
mobo
8 gb ram
gtx 660 ti


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.